2020 The year of banishing unnecessary spending.

It was in Rymans the stationers that I finally decided that 2020 was the year I finally stopped buying crap I didn’t need.

I had bought a pen from a museum shop nearly a year before. It is white, classy, comfortable and cheap. It is a cheap biro. I think it cost £1. I really like this pen and it has run out of ink.

Here I was considering purchasing a refill. Well, two refills to be exact as they couldn’t be bought singly. The price was £3.99.

I stared at the pen. I stared at the price. I thought of the many, many pens I have both at home and at work. I thought of the debt-riddled state of my finances and my overdraft. I thought of all the emotional pain and anxiety that this causes me.

No. Time to stop.

I could not believe what I was considering. Spending money on pen refills that I didn’t need with money that I could not afford to spend.

I did not buy the pen refills.

I went home and unscrewed one of the numerous free pens I have been given recently. The ink section fitted perfectly in the museum pen.

It is time to stop.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.